Giants Post-Game Notes Sept. 7th

The San Francisco Giants #BeatLA 5-2 tonight to extend their NL West lead to 5.5 games over the Dodgers. The Giants haven’t had this big a division lead since leading the West by 15.5 games at the end of 2003.

TIMMYTim Lincecum went 6.1 innings, allowing 2 runs on 4 hits while allowing a career-high 7 walks and 7 strikeouts. Lincecum did allow a home run to Adam Kennedy on an 0-2 pitch, Lincecum has allowed a home run in each of his last 3 starts. Bruce Bochy said of Lincecum’s performance

“He did mix in some walks and you hate to see that. But he wasn’t missing by much. He had a good look about him. He kept his poise out there and kept pitching. That’s what he’s doing now.”

The last time the Giants won a game where the starter allowed 7-or-more walks was back in 2010 when Jonathan Sanchez performed the feat. Lincecum felt out of sync at times during the game saying,

“Mechanically, I was there 70 percent of the time. I was leaking my shoulder or blocking myself with my hip. I don’t know how to expain it, but those are my keys.”  

See what else Lincecum said after the game.

Giants Up the Middle- Marco Scutaro was 2-5 with 2 RBI for his 13th multi-hit game in his last 22 games. Scutaro is hitting .333 with 26 RBI since becoming a Giant. Scutaro’s double play partner Brandon Crawford was 1-for-3 with a walk and scored 2 runs, over his last 17 games Crawford is hitting .316. With the Giants facing back-to-back left-handed starters in Chris Capuano and Clayton Kershaw, Joaquin Arias is likely to get the start at short. After the game Bruce Bochy said that Arias “has been playing pretty good short, he’s been good defensively and he’s healthy. He’s done a good job, and you don’t change things that have been working.”

See what else Bruce Bochy said after tonight’s game including how Tim Lincecum pitched tonight and what Marco Scutaro has meant to this team.

About Vegas Joe

When I was 5, I decided I was going to cover sports for a living… score. I’ve been working at KNBR since 2005 and have been the producer of Sportsphone 680 since 2010. On the show I’ve worked with former Major League players FP Santangelo and Eric Byrnes. While at KNBR I’ve been blessed to cover many great games and teams including the Warriors ” We Believe” run, The Giants 2010 World Series team, and the 49ers run to the NFC Championship game. I was born in Oakland, where I live today. I have been a Bay Area resident my entire life spending time living in Albany, Lafayette, San Francisco and now Oakland. I graduated from San Francisco State University in 2008 with a degree in Radio and Television.

Posted on September 8, 2012, in San Francisco Giants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

